Guide

Home education, microschools and online school with Hope

How Kanawha Valley families use the Hope Scholarship's IIP pathway for home education, the valley's Hope-listed microschools and nonpublic online programs, and what changes when a family leaves traditional homeschool.

Quick answer

Kanawha Valley families who homeschool, use a microschool or enroll in a nonpublic online program can use West Virginia's Hope Scholarship, worth $5,435.62 for a full 2026-27 year, through its Individualized Instructional Plan pathway. Microschools, a category the Legislature created with SB 268 in 2022, can be paid with Hope even though they are not participating schools.

Traditional homeschool versus Hope IIP

West Virginia treats traditional homeschool and Hope as two different exemptions from compulsory attendance. A traditional homeschool family files a notice with the county and pays its own costs. A Hope family follows an Individualized Instructional Plan, files a Hope Notice of Intent with the county superintendent, and spends $5,435.62 a year through the portal. Switching means filing a notice ending the homeschool exemption, and Hope cannot pay a parent or relative to teach their own child.

Microschools since SB 268

The Legislature created a separate exemption for learning pods and microschools in SB 268 during the 2022 session, with a cap later raised to 100 students. The Hope handbook defines a microschool as a tuition-charging school started by one or more teachers, or an entity formed to run one, that is an alternative to public, private and homeschool. Microschool tuition is a qualifying Hope expense, and the child is enrolled as an IIP student.

Microschools on the Hope list in the valley

In October 2026 we found five metro programs listed as microschools in the Hope directory: Vandalia Microschool and Kanawha Valley Academy of Learning in South Charleston, The Copper Penny Schoolhouse and Tabernacle Christian Academy in St. Albans, and Overflow Forest School in Clendenin. Being in the directory means the program can bill the portal; it does not tell you about curriculum, schedule or size, so visit and ask.

Nonpublic online programs

Tuition and fees for nonpublic online learning programs are on the Hope qualifying list. That matters most in Boone, Lincoln and Clay counties, where there is one private school per county or none. Before enrolling, check that the online provider is approved in the Hope portal; out-of-state online schools appear in the same directory, and a family can also request approval for an expense through the Board's Qualifying Expense Request Form.

Building a year from the account

A home-education year might combine curriculum, a co-op or tutor, a laptop, museum and science-center admissions, and testing fees. The Board's non-qualifying list rules out home internet, streaming services, phones and most toys, and the TheoPay self-serve card works only for carts of $75 or less. Unspent money carries into next year if the June 15 continuation form is filed.

Hope-listed microschools in the Kanawha Valley (5)

SchoolTypeCommunityGradesHope listStudents*
Kanawha Valley Academy of Learning
South Charleston · from published lists only
Independent SchoolsSouth Charleston & DunbarNot reportedOn the list—
Overflow Forest School
Clendenin · from published lists only
Independent SchoolsElk Valley & Upper KanawhaNot reportedOn the list—
Tabernacle Christian Academy
St. Albans · from published lists only
Christian SchoolsSt. Albans, Nitro & Cross LanesNot reportedOn the list—
The Copper Penny Schoolhouse
St. Albans · from published lists only
Independent SchoolsSt. Albans, Nitro & Cross LanesNot reportedOn the list—
Vandalia Microschool
South Charleston · from published lists only
Independent SchoolsSouth Charleston & DunbarNot reportedOn the list—

* Enrollment reported to the NCES Private School Survey (2023-24 or 2021-22). "Hope list" means the school appears on the published Hope Scholarship participating-school list (Oct 2026).

Next step

Take the short funding check. A School Funding Advisor will confirm your Hope tier, the deposit dates that apply to you and any tuition help your school offers.

Start the funding check →

Common questions

Can a West Virginia parent use the Hope Scholarship to pay themselves to homeschool?

No. The Hope Scholarship cannot pay a parent or other immediate family member to teach their own child; the Hope Scholarship Service Providers Handbook bars it. A Kanawha Valley homeschool family can instead spend Hope funds on curriculum, outside tutors, therapies, online classes, technology and testing, all purchased through the Hope portal from approved providers and vendors.

Is a microschool a participating school under West Virginia's Hope Scholarship?

No. West Virginia law does not count a microschool as a Hope participating school, but Hope Scholarship funds can still pay microschool tuition. A child at a microschool is enrolled through the Individualized Instructional Plan pathway, and the family marks IIP on the Hope Notice of Intent. Since July 31, 2024, microschools can use the Hope portal's school module for billing.

Can a Boone County student use Hope for a full-time online school?

Yes, if the program is a nonpublic online learning program approved in the Hope portal. The Hope Scholarship Parent Handbook lists tuition and fees for nonpublic online programs as qualifying expenses. A Boone County family should confirm the online school's approval in the Hope directory before enrolling, and remember that full-time public virtual school is public enrollment, which cannot be combined with Hope.

See what Hope means for your child

Answer a few questions about grade, school and county. A School Funding Advisor calls back with your Hope timing and any aid that fits. No cost.

Start the funding check →