The Hope Scholarship Board publishes a searchable directory of schools, microschools and service providers. Its August 10, 2026 update listed 1,286 entries statewide, including 219 schools and 80 microschools. We matched that list against the five metro counties and found 20 of the 21 schools in our directory.
A school on the list has signed the Board's provider agreement, published its maximum tuition and fees, and agreed not to charge Hope students more than other families. Hope tuition for a participating school is paid through the portal, so the school bills the account directly rather than the parent paying and waiting.
Microschools appear on the same directory but are a separate legal category. Since July 31, 2024 they can use the portal's school module, yet the law does not call them participating schools. A child at a microschool is enrolled as an Individualized Instructional Plan (IIP) student, and the family marks IIP on the Notice of Intent.
One metro school in the state's nonpublic list, Clay Christian Academy, did not appear on the Hope list we checked. Names on the list sometimes differ from names on federal records, so a family should always confirm directly with the school and in the portal before counting on Hope for tuition.
Charleston-area schools on the Hope Scholarship list (20)
| School | Type | Community | Grades | Hope list | Students* |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bible Center School Charleston · from published lists only | Christian Schools | Charleston | Not reported | On the list | — |
| Calvary Baptist Academy 3655 Teays Valley Rd, Hurricane 25526 | Christian Schools Baptist | Putnam County | K-12 | On the list | 211 |
| Charleston Catholic High School 1033 Virginia St. E, Charleston 25301 | Catholic Schools | Charleston | 6-12 | On the list | 365 |
| Charleston Montessori 3410 Virginia St. SE, Charleston 25304 | Independent Schools | Charleston | PK-6 | On the list | 62 |
| Christian Faith Academy 93 Randy Hager Ln, Madison 25130 | Christian Schools Christian (no specific denomination) | Boone, Lincoln & Clay Counties | K-12 | On the list | 49 |
| Cross Lanes Christian School 5330 Floradale Dr., Cross Lanes 25313 | Christian Schools Christian (no specific denomination) | St. Albans, Nitro & Cross Lanes | K-12 | On the list | 279 |
| Crusade Christian Academy Dunbar · from published lists only | Christian Schools | South Charleston & Dunbar | Not reported | On the list | — |
| Elk Valley Christian School 58 Mount Pleasant Dr., Elkview 25071 | Christian Schools Baptist | Elk Valley & Upper Kanawha | PK-12 | On the list | 131 |
| IAWV Elementary School 1 Valley Dr., South Charleston 25303 | Jewish & Islamic Schools Islamic | South Charleston & Dunbar | PK-6 | On the list | 40 |
| Kanawha Valley Academy of Learning South Charleston · from published lists only | Independent Schools | South Charleston & Dunbar | Not reported | On the list | — |
| Lighthouse of Learning Education South Charleston · from published lists only | Independent Schools | South Charleston & Dunbar | Not reported | On the list | — |
| Mountaineer Montessori School 308 20th St. SE, Charleston 25304 | Independent Schools | Charleston | PK-8 | On the list | 139 |
| New Hope Christian School 525 1st Ave Ste B, South Charleston 25303 | Christian Schools Baptist | South Charleston & Dunbar | K-12 | On the list | 18 |
| Overflow Forest School Clendenin · from published lists only | Independent Schools | Elk Valley & Upper Kanawha | Not reported | On the list | — |
| Sacred Heart Grade School 1035 Quarrier St., Charleston 25301 | Catholic Schools | Charleston | PK-5 | On the list | 206 |
| St. Francis of Assisi 525 Holley St., St. Albans 25177 | Catholic Schools | St. Albans, Nitro & Cross Lanes | PK-5 | On the list | 111 |
| Tabernacle Christian Academy St. Albans · from published lists only | Christian Schools | St. Albans, Nitro & Cross Lanes | Not reported | On the list | — |
| Teays Valley Christian School 6562 Teays Valley Rd, Scott Depot 25560 | Christian Schools | Putnam County | K-12 | On the list | 224 |
| The Copper Penny Schoolhouse St. Albans · from published lists only | Independent Schools | St. Albans, Nitro & Cross Lanes | Not reported | On the list | — |
| Vandalia Microschool South Charleston · from published lists only | Independent Schools | South Charleston & Dunbar | Not reported | On the list | — |
* Enrollment reported to the NCES Private School Survey (2023-24 or 2021-22). "Hope list" means the school appears on the published Hope Scholarship participating-school list (Oct 2026).
Combining it with other sources
Hope Participating Schools in the Kanawha Valley can usually be used alongside the school's own aid. Rules differ by source, so the funding check maps which ones fit together for your child.
Common questions
How does a parent check whether a Charleston school is on the Hope Scholarship list?
A parent checks the Hope Scholarship participating-school directory at hopescholarshipwv.gov, which lets families search by school name, type and city. The Hope Scholarship directory was last updated August 10, 2026 when we checked it. Because names on the list do not always match a school's everyday name, the parent should also ask the Charleston school's office to confirm its Hope status for this year.
Can a Hope participating school in Kanawha County charge Hope families more tuition?
No. A Hope participating school must publish its maximum tuition and fee schedule before each school year, and the Hope Scholarship Service Providers Handbook says charging Hope students more than other students is unlawful. A Kanawha County family that sees a higher rate for Hope students than for other families can raise it with the Hope Scholarship Board staff.
What happens to Hope tuition if a child leaves a participating school mid-year?
When a Hope student stops attending, the participating school must withdraw the student in the Hope portal and refund unearned tuition within 30 days. The Hope refund goes back into the student's online account, not to the parent, so a Charleston family can then use it at another school, a microschool or an approved provider for the rest of the year.