By type

Microschools & Hybrid Schools in Greater Charleston

Small tuition-charging programs listed as microschools on the Hope list, in South Charleston, St. Albans and Clendenin.

Funding note: Microschools are not "participating schools" in law, but Hope can pay their tuition when the child is enrolled through the IIP pathway.

These five programs appear as microschools in the Hope Scholarship Board's directory. West Virginia created the microschool and learning-pod exemption in SB 268 in 2022, and the Hope handbook lists microschool tuition as a qualifying expense. Since July 31, 2024, microschools use the portal's school module for billing.

Students at a microschool are IIP students, not participating-school students, so the family marks IIP on the Notice of Intent and handles annual academic reporting by June 8. Programs vary widely in size, schedule and faith character; visit before you enroll.

5
Private schools in our directory
5
On the Hope Scholarship participating-school list (Oct 2026)
1
Religiously affiliated
0
Special-education or learning-differences focus
0
Serve grade 12
0
Students reported to the federal private school survey

Where they are: South Charleston & Dunbar (2), St. Albans, Nitro & Cross Lanes (2), Elk Valley & Upper Kanawha (1).

All 5 microschools & hybrid schools

SchoolTypeCommunityGradesHope listStudents*
Kanawha Valley Academy of Learning
South Charleston · from published lists only
Independent SchoolsSouth Charleston & DunbarNot reportedOn the list—
Overflow Forest School
Clendenin · from published lists only
Independent SchoolsElk Valley & Upper KanawhaNot reportedOn the list—
Tabernacle Christian Academy
St. Albans · from published lists only
Christian SchoolsSt. Albans, Nitro & Cross LanesNot reportedOn the list—
The Copper Penny Schoolhouse
St. Albans · from published lists only
Independent SchoolsSt. Albans, Nitro & Cross LanesNot reportedOn the list—
Vandalia Microschool
South Charleston · from published lists only
Independent SchoolsSouth Charleston & DunbarNot reportedOn the list—

* Enrollment reported to the NCES Private School Survey (2023-24 or 2021-22). "Hope list" means the school appears on the published Hope Scholarship participating-school list (Oct 2026).

See what Hope means for your child

Answer a few questions about grade, school and county. A School Funding Advisor calls back with your Hope timing and any aid that fits. No cost.

Start the funding check →