Independent Schools in Greater Charleston
Two Montessori programs in Charleston, a learning center in South Charleston and several Hope-listed microschools.
Funding note: Independent schools set their own tuition and aid. Hope pays tuition only at schools on the participating list, or at microschools through the IIP pathway.
Independent schools in this area are a mixed group: two Montessori programs in Charleston, Lighthouse of Learning Education in South Charleston and several microschools in South Charleston, St. Albans and Clendenin. What they share is that each sets its own tuition and aid without a diocese or church behind it.
For Hope purposes, the key question is pathway. A school on the participating list is paid directly; a microschool is paid through the IIP pathway. Montessori families should also note that Hope starts at kindergarten.
Where they are: South Charleston & Dunbar (3), Charleston (2), Elk Valley & Upper Kanawha (1), St. Albans, Nitro & Cross Lanes (1).
All 7 independent schools
| School | Type | Community | Grades | Hope list | Students* |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Charleston Montessori 3410 Virginia St. SE, Charleston 25304 | Independent Schools | Charleston | PK-6 | On the list | 62 |
| Kanawha Valley Academy of Learning South Charleston · from published lists only | Independent Schools | South Charleston & Dunbar | Not reported | On the list | — |
| Lighthouse of Learning Education South Charleston · from published lists only | Independent Schools | South Charleston & Dunbar | Not reported | On the list | — |
| Mountaineer Montessori School 308 20th St. SE, Charleston 25304 | Independent Schools | Charleston | PK-8 | On the list | 139 |
| Overflow Forest School Clendenin · from published lists only | Independent Schools | Elk Valley & Upper Kanawha | Not reported | On the list | — |
| The Copper Penny Schoolhouse St. Albans · from published lists only | Independent Schools | St. Albans, Nitro & Cross Lanes | Not reported | On the list | — |
| Vandalia Microschool South Charleston · from published lists only | Independent Schools | South Charleston & Dunbar | Not reported | On the list | — |
* Enrollment reported to the NCES Private School Survey (2023-24 or 2021-22). "Hope list" means the school appears on the published Hope Scholarship participating-school list (Oct 2026).
See what Hope means for your child
Answer a few questions about grade, school and county. A School Funding Advisor calls back with your Hope timing and any aid that fits. No cost.